Clarity 26

Chapter 26

Maya

It’s a good thing that Richard made his intentions clear. I thought he was really taking things too fast and couldn’t afford to stroll down and just take the moment in. I was tidying up my work things when a familiar envelope fell from my bag. I picked it up and the photos dropped on the floor, including the little card.

I really need to meet this man in my dreams. Richard told me not to give up on him no matter what happens. Does that still apply today now that he’s courting me? One thing’s for sure though. I need to meet this person. I’m now starting to feel something so strong to Richard but I couldn’t give my whole self to him because of this man in my dreams.

I took a piece of paper and wrote the words ‘I want to meet you, please.’ I placed it on our mailbox. I tried to be a spy and just watched in until it disappeared but I can’t because I’m supposed to be editing the photos that Ruby and Kyle will be sending today. I got back inside our house and worked in our living room. Kute is already asleep inside her room. She’s been taking on both shifts in Pocholo’s and I know she deserves all of the sleep and rest she could get.

I reached for my phone and saw that Richard texted over an hour ago. I was about to hit the reply button by my attention shifted to the clock. It’s already two hours since I put the envelope on our mailbox. I hurriedly went outside and saw a paper tucked inside of it. It’s a little bit crumpled but it’s different from before. This time, there are no printed words, they are all handwritten.

I want to meet you, too. Send a text to this number. 0917-xxx-xxx. I’ll be waiting, Maya. I’ve waited for so long to see you again.

I felt my heart double its rate of beating. I head inside and grabbed my phone and quickly went to my messages. I punched in the number and typed out my message.

Sino ka ba?

Before I could even put my phone down, it beeped. I’m the one sending the pictures to you.

Sino ka nga kasi? I brought my phone with me until I reached my room. Then it beeped again.

I’m the missing link to your amnesia, Maya. I’m the man you used to love.

My eyes widened. Who is this creep? I don’t know if I should believe him. It might just be someone pulling a prank on me. Before I could type a reply, my phone beeped. He sent a photo. It was a picture of me and someone behind me. It was edited because the man behind me is hidden by brush layers and it was also blurred purposely. But I can’t be so wrong about that photo. It was during our first date.

Naniniwala ka na? Ako yung nasa likod mo sa picture. He said on another text.

Bakit blurred saka may gure-gure? Paano ako makakapaniguradong ikaw nga ‘yan? I replied.

Meet me. 8AM tomorrow. Sa The Fort. Please bring no one except yourself. Goodnight, Maya.

The text said. I replied but he didn’t send anymore text. I tried calling it but the operator would always answer it. My whole mind is bothered. I decided to get my bag and tucked my pepper spray inside of it. So if that man is just really trying to get me, I can defend myself. I want to tell Richard about it but I know that it can wait. I know that he’ll just scold me about this and it might be better if he do it after the meet up tomorrow so he can just let it all out once.

I woke up at six thirty in the morning and got all ready. Kute left me a note saying that she left around two in the morning to go to Pocholo’s and wouldn’t be back until five in the afternoon. I made my way to the place whoever it might be, said. I opened my bag to fish for my phone but I can’t find it. Then I realized that I left it on our dining table. Darn. Richard will get worried. But since it’s already quarter to eight and I’m kilometres away from home, I decided not to go back. I just have to apologize a lot when I get back.

I arrived at The Fort and have no idea where I should go. I started walking hoping that I will see someone I know so that I will not really feel so alone. I was trying so hard in searching for a familiar face when someone caught my attention that made me stop on my tracks. I quickly turned around and walked fast. What is he doing here?!

“Maya, wait!” He said. I quickened my phase but he caught me by my arm and turned me around. “Hey, what’s wrong? Bakit mo ako tinakbuhan?”

I rolled my eyes at him. “Gago ka ba? Sino bang babae ang niloko ng isang kagaya mo na kapag nagkakita ulit, casual lang?!” I said. “Simon, mag-isip ka nga! Saka bakit ba ako nakikipag-usap sa’yo? Dyan ka na nga!” I added and walked again.

“Viel and I are no longer together.” I heard Simon said. I turned to look at his hopeful face. “It doesn’t seem right.”

A smile crept on my face. “Ang galing no? Pagkatapos ng ilang buwan na pinagsabay mo kami, biglang ‘it doesn’t seem right.’ Gago ka talaga, Simon. Buti natauhan ‘yung babae sa’yo.” I sarcastically said and rolled my eyes.

“Maya, please.” He said as he got on my side as I continued to walk. “Mag-usap naman tayo.”

“There’s nothing to talk about. You made it clear the day that I caught you. It’s done. Kahit walang closure, pinilit mong isara.” I said without looking at him.

“I know and I’m sorry! I was wrong. I was so wrong. Hindi ko dapat siya pinatulan. Dapat ikaw ang pinili ko at sinisisi ko ng sobra ang sarili ko dahil do’n.” Simon continued to speak.

“Wala kang dapat ipagkasisi. Mas maganda nang nawala ako, mas maganda nang nawala ka sa buhay ko.” I exclaimed.

“No. I do blame myself, so bad, Maya. Dapat hindi ko ginawa ‘yon. Dapat pinanindigan kita.” Simon said. “I loved you years ago, when I met you when you got into an accident.” He said and my brows furrowed. Where is he going with this? “I’m the one who rescued you, Maya. I’m the man in your dreams.”

My feet automatically stopped. It’s him?! I slowly looked at him with my mouth gaped. It’s him? Of all the times we’ve been together, he’s saying this now? I shook my head. “Wag mo kong gaguhin, Simon, hindi ikaw ‘yon. Wala kang –“

“You want proof?” He said and that was the only time when I noticed that he has a bag with him. He slung it on his shoulder to get something inside of it. “Remember this?” He asked as he took out a Polaroid camera.

Good Lord. I do recognize it.

“Naaalala mo ‘di ba? It’s the camera I gave you a week before your birthday. It was my pre-birthday gift. And guess what my actual birthday gift to you was?” He asked. I clutched my hand on my chest. I have a strong feeling of what the answer might be. “Yep. It’s your old DSLR camera.” He said.

I remained mum. Is this true? Is he really the man in my dreams? “P-Pero -“

“Maya, this is not the place to talk about this. Come on, let’s talk inside.” He said. He laid out his hand for me to accept. I hesitated at first but I still reached my hand out to him. Simon led us inside a coffee shop and ordered frappe for us both. I remained silent and I know he knows the reason why I’m like this. When our orders came, he started to talk.

“I just got home a few days from France when I saw you lying on the road, unconscious. I was so scared that time because I thought you were dead. I rushed you immediately to a hospital and the doctor said that you were suffering from amnesia. I took you to my condo unit and kept you there for you to recover.” He said.

“Bakit hindi mo tinawagan si Kute?” I curiously asked.

“Maya, I just got back from France. I’m just eight when we migrated, remember? You were always calling me just to cry because of your parents. I don’t even know what your surname is back then because I only know your name is Maya. So frankly, I know no one when I got back here except from my relatives. I don’t know where you and Kute lives. Nakarating lang ako dun nung naging tayo. I don’t know where you work, what contact number I should call because you got robbed. Wala kang bag, wala kang dalang kahit ano.” He said.

I felt like I’ve been punched in my stomach. What he’s saying about me lying unconscious on the road felt so true. It felt like it’s the last piece of my puzzle. “Simon, ikaw talaga ‘yung lalaking tumulong sa’kin?”

He nodded with a smile. “Hindi ba kapanipaniwala? I’m the one sending those pictures to you, Maya. If you want, you can have all of them. Nasa condo ko ‘yung kahon. Everything is inside of it.”

“Pero Simon, bakit ngayon mo lang inamin lahat ng ‘to? Bakit hinayaan mo akong ganito? Na dalawang taon litong-lito sa kulang-kulang kong buhay?” I asked.

“I don’t want you to be scared. Maya, you left me two years ago because you bumped your head. You remembered everything except for me and to the things we’ve shared. Isipin mo na lang ‘yung pagkakakita natin sa America, na sinabi ko sa’yo na mahal mo ako at iniwan mo ako two years ago. Ano sa tingin mo ang magiging reaksyon mo?” He asked. “I bet you’re just going to think that I lost a screw in my head because it does sound unbelievable. So I tried to make you fall for me again and we did share another year, right? But then I fucked up. I’m really sorry, Maya. I promise, I will not lie to you again.” He said.

My heart felt heavy. This is all surreal! What I just imagined to happen finally happened, but I can’t .. I .. I need time to think about this. I abruptly got up from my chair. “I .. I have to go. I .. I need time to think this through. I’m sorry. Please excuse me.” I said and quickly left him but I felt Simon hug me from behind.

“I love you, Maya. I always have and I always will.” He murmured in my ear. When I felt his arm loosened, I quickly went outside and hailed a cab passing through. I told him to bring me to Rizal Park. I need some air. I don’t care about the bill I’m about to pay, I just need silence. I need to think.

I strolled around the park and tried to focus on my surroundings so it would help me to calm down. And when I did, I sat under the shade of a huge tree and buried my face in my hands. I suddenly remembered this conversation with Richard.

“A couple of days ago, you said that you’ve been dreaming about this man. Well, what if, one day, he goes in front of you out of the blue and introduced himself, say that he’s in love with you and you knew right there and then that he is that man. What would you do? Would you turn him down because of different reasons? Or would you take the risk of saying I love you back because for once in your life, you want to be happy, just like in your dreams?”

This is finally the day he’s been talking about. It’s the day that someone goes in front of me and said that he’s the man in my dreams but the problem is, I don’t know if I should believe him. I don’t even know what to say to him. I sighed deeply. I’m really torn apart. Then I remembered my answer to Richard.

“Kung mangyayari man ‘yung sinabi mo and for some reason, dala-dala niya lahat ng nawawalang piraso ng pagkatao ko then yes, with no doubt, I would run away with him.”

Why does it have to be like this now? I thought I was over Simon but after he told me the truth, the old flame is back. But why? Why does it have to be at this moment when I’m already starting to fall deeply for Richard? I closed my eyes and recalled my recurring dreams. I’m always happy when I’m with him. But then, images of Richard laughing with me slides in my thoughts, and I would be happy just the same.

Around one in the afternoon, I decided to go home. After half an hour, the cab already stopped and I saw Richard sitting on near our gate in his slouched form. When he saw me, he immediately stood up and gave me a tight hug.

“Maya! Where have you been? You have no idea how worried sick I am. I thought something happened to you! I thought –“

“Richard, mag-usap tayo sa loob.” I interrupted. He leaned back to look at my face and just got completely torn when I saw that he’s scared of what I’m going to say.

“W-What’s wrong?” He asked.

I got away from his hold and opened the house for us. We really need to talk.

 

..

thoughts? 😉

A/N : Whahahaha. May tumama na po sa mga hula nung mga huling chapters, ayoko lang pong umimik. Pasensya na po sa loa ko, naging busy lang po. I’ll be gone again tomorrow. May swimming daw po eh.

Any reactions? Yung violent po ha, hahahaha!

SoliDeoGloria

62 thoughts on “Clarity 26

  1. what the SIMON mapapatay kita niloko mo na si maya lolokohin mo na naman ulit….isisilid kita sako eh! Ang sakit sa dibdin nito kay Richard……wahhhhhh hindi tama to hwag ganun magwawala na talaga ako nito nakaka stresssssssssssssssssss…………..hehe Thanks for the update 🙂

  2. Ayoko ng mag isip bka mainis lang ako lalo. Kaloka k dra hahaha.. Oh my gee bka sa nangyaring ito bka mag decide na tlaga c richard na pumuntang US … Naku simon isasako tlaga kita sa gnawa mo . naku richard wag magkilos pagong maagawan ka na tlaga .
    . sana nman tulungan xa ng mga friends nya na mkilala ni maya ang tunay na man of her dreams…

  3. Waaaah ano ba yan kakainis naman si Simon!!! Pero pano nya nalaman ?? Haaaay naku doc Hindi ako makakatulog nyan next chapter na please!!!

  4. NOOOOOOO!! this cant be!!! sa dinami dami ng may gawa si Simon pa talaga.. OMG Richard pagong ka bat ayw pa kasi sabihin kay Maya yung totoo..

    thank you sa update Ms. C

  5. Si Richard kasi, eh. Hindi pa sabihin ang totoo kay Maya. Ayan tuloy, baka maunahan pa siya ni Simon nanaman. Sana huwag maniwala si Maya.

  6. Naku ano ba yan Bkt naman ganun ang nangyari sa story ms christine sana sabihin ni maya ang tungkol sa sinabi ni simon para masabi na ni richard ang totoo please!!!!

  7. Tanga si Maya kung maniniwala siya sa sinabi ni Simon. Iniwan na siya noon. Niloko. Dapat hindi na siya magpauto uli. Hindi ba siya nagtataka kung bakit sumulpot uli si Simon pagkatapos ng mahabang panahon. Mahal, cmon Maya, walang lalaking mahal ka na iiwanan ka ng 2 taon. Sana mag–imbestiga muna o kausapin muna niya si Richard bago mahuli ang lahat

  8. I hate you simon! usa kang impostor. Richard please ipa huli at ipakulong mo ang simon na yan crime yang ginawa nya sa yo at kay maya. Please one more di ako makatulig sa galit kay simon. Ipapasalvage ko talaga yang bastos na simon na yan eh. Sorry super affected lang po.

  9. Darn, couldn’t believe Simon is behind the missing box from RL, and how did he find about Maya’s amnesia and all other things. Did Kute told him? Oh I see, you are so clever Ms Christine😄, I think he is press guy who interviewed Richard and I think after Simons love affair went kaput and tried to find some ways to return to Maya but find out that RL is courting her, simon digged deeper on RL history…just a thoughts😄😄😄…thanks for update…but I want the next please😳😳😳

  10. i wonder how Simon got to know the whole story? may diary bang kasama yung box na ninakaw from Richard? parang detailed kasi kung mag kwento si Simon…hhmmmm.

  11. kahapon pa ako naghahanap ng maisasako yun pala nandito lang ….. humanda ka simon sa SAKO GANG …… bwahahahaha!!!! dra. kiligtrician kabog kabog na naman ang dibdib ko …. ano kaya ang paguusapan nila maya at richard? Salamat sa update.

    • Sis Catez andito na ako ang kapal ng mukha ng Simon na yan sana naman eh maliwanagan si Maya at matulungan ni Kute si Richard na ipaliwanag ang totoo so ready na ako pag kailangan mo ako ….naku imbyerna talaga ako diyan sa Simon na yan ang EPAL niya !!! Affected Lang kawawa na kasi si Ricky so please !!! Isako na natin yan at ng mawala sa eksena !!!!!!!!! Sako Gang get ready na……

      • sis chuwie alam mo na ang gagawin kapag sinako na natin si simon …. dating gawi ha …. eh ang tanong paano kung di maliwanagan si maya …. ibig bang sabihin eh pati si maya isasako rin natin. … hehehehe!!!

        • Sis kailangan niya ng backup from Kute Luke and Dr J and of course James and his wife kita mo naman halos lahat tayong ADIK eh willing tumulong isako si Simon so I’m confident once nagyari yan wala ng kontrabida ….ano ba to bakit excited akong isako si Simon !!!! OMG…. I cant wait na…

  12. Baka si Simon ang nakasagasa Kay Maya and Richard was the one who helped Maya from the accident …
    Ano ba Dra….. Next na please…

  13. naman Ms. Christine parang ayaw mo kami patulugin nito sa galit kay Simon… grabe ka simon isa kang monster… sana naman gawin na ni Richard ang lahat para malala na ni Maya ang lahat.. nasa kanya pa naman yung tissue na may pirma nila ni Maya, at picture nila na tinatago nya sa walet nya… plus yung doctor ni Maya at maraming taong nakasama nya nong may amnesia.. mas marami ang alas mo Richard.. whew, sori affected lang..

  14. Si Simon?.. Ow, hindi lng sya manloloko o sinungaling, magnanakaw pa.. Bakit sikat sya na journalist, di naman pla trustworthy?… Rely on your heart Maya, and hope Maya will meet all the people that could give her info about it like angeli, james, dr manalo & senior Lim, etc.. Kainis! Richard, do something!
    Affected lng… Thanks sa update, next na pls…

  15. pakiramdam ko po noon pa spy ni simon tong si richard.. baka naman kasangkot tong si simon sa nangyari before kay maya.. grrrrrrrrrr tlga… please ms. author wag nyo na po pahirapan sila maya at richard.. 🙂

  16. roarrrrrr…..kakainis ka simon…the hell you are! liar ka Simon! Richard – magdamoves ka na – dali! Don’t let Simon get away from all of his lies…wag mong ipaubaya si Maya sa kanya…if you really love Maya…then fight for your love….pero teka ‘pano lahat nalaman ni Simon yung pangyayari na si Richard ang rescuer, naging bf, yung letters sa mailbox, etc. Siguro na witness nya once si Richard ang naglalagay ng letters.. from then on nag-investigate na sya…journalist nga pala siya…yes he can “create stories”…galing mo Chris ha pwede ka na rin sa suspense & msytery-cum-drama-love story ha!

  17. BWISEEEEET KA SIMON!!! Your such an A******, a big liar, a thief at manloloko…sarap sunugin ng buhay nitong si simon eh. Pwede ba Richard kumilos ka na wag ng magpa tanga-tanga pa sa pansitan.. Nakuuuuu naiinis talaga ako… Sorry super affected talaga ako. Next chapter na please. Thank you.

  18. Waaaaaah!!! I knew it!! Si SIMON DE GUZMAN Nga ang magnanakaw!!! Dra.may premyo ba ang mga nakahula ng tama sa pahula mo? Qng ang premyo ay will have th power to punish Simon then sana aq ang manalo, dahil hindi lang PagSaSako kay Simon ang gagawin qu, ipapagulong gulong q rin xa after isako tapos ipapatapon qu sya sa Kasagaran para ipakain sa mga Bukaw! Tingnan lang naten qng san ka pupulutin ngaun Simon! Roooaaaarrr!!! Ang sakit sa dibdib!! Kawawa na naman si Richard. 😦 pero wait, mai isa pang alas si Ricky aside sa mga witnesses nya…Yung Video ng Proposal nya kay Maya!!! Waaaah! Sana nga lang hindi yun nakasale sa box na nanakaw ni Simon…bilisan mo magswom dra.para next chapter na agad! Ahaahhaha.

  19. kaasar ka simon, ha! mga katulad mo tinatapon sa impiyerno. di ka dapat pagkatiwalaan.
    thanks, ms. christine sa update. hwag sana matagal ang kasunod 🙂

  20. The solution to this Hannah is to make the face of the man in Maya’s dreams clear showing the face of Richard that it’s not Simon. This is key to resolve the confusion and panloloko ni Simon kay Maya.

  21. So I guessed it right then? I’ve been having that gut feeling but chose to ignore it cause such thing is really crazy and twisted and Simon here proved to be such. I can’t put to words how I’d like to describe Simon here. He’s completely deranged, a psycho who needs to be locked up in a mental institution. And Maya really is indeed in deep trouble if she continue to hang around with the lunatic. I just hope that Maya fully disclose to Richard that Simon claims to be “the man in her dreams.” And if that happens, Richard should no longer think twice but bare the truth to Maya. It’s now or never. Maya may in turn get confused, get angry with Richard even. She might even choose to leave and go some place else where there is no Simon and Richard, but that would only push her to dig deep inside and search who really makes her happy, link it to the man in her dreams, and finally deduce who’s really telling the truth between the two. And if that happens, I’d really love to see Simon being locked up!

  22. LIARRRRRRRRR si Simon! Dapat may maisip si Richard na evidence aside dun sa mga nawala at paraan para maniwala si Maya na ang man sa dreams niya ay si Richard at hindi si Simon. Speed up Richard action na agad and u still have to decide kung pupunta ka ng NY or not. Thank you Kris, next chapter please, bitin eh o.

  23. Nakakainis ka Simon isasako na kita at itatapon sa bangin!!!
    Maya wag kang maniwala dyan kay Simon nababaliw na yan!!!…

  24. If ang anak kong si Ricardo ay nabrokenharted na naman dahil sa Simon na yan, ipapasako ko na sya kay Ms. Catez kasama ang author.

    Nasstress ang kagandahan ko..may gawd

    Hahaha

  25. Sh*t!!! Nag-init ang ulo ko dito! Nakakainis!!! Naku Simon! Di ko alam kung anong magagawa ko kung totoo ka lang! Nakakapanggigil! Richard! Sabihin mo na kay Maya na ikaw un. Wag mo ng patagalin pa! Kahit na shock pa si Maya sa nakuha nyang maling impormasyon. She deserves to know the truth.. ung galing talaga sa taong kasama nya 2 years ago…

Your thoughts?

