Have Faith 7 – Another First

 A/N : Pasensya na po kung maikli. Ang sakit po kasi ng ulo ko. Pasaway pong bata, nagpapaulan. Haha!
Salamat po sa pag-hihintay.

CHAPTER 7

“Bunso, ano bang itsura nung Richard na nagligtas sa’yo?” Kute asked her. They are currently having dinner in their dining area. Maya is seated across Kute while her mother is seated beside her, their father seated at the center. Richard, on the other hand was walking around, as if guarding them but he suddenly halted when he heard Maya’s sister’s question.

This will be interesting. Richard thought, bringing a smile to his face.

“Ano, uhm ..” Maya is getting embarrassed. She can’t help but to look at Richard who’s currently standing beside her sister. Pangiti-ngiti pa ‘tong singkit na ‘to. “Ehh, ano, may mata, may ilong, may bibig.”

“Hindi yan Maya! Ano ngang itsura? Yung seryoso naman.”

“Ehh …” He looked at Richard again and sighed. “Chinito, maputi, uhmm, mas matangkad sa’kin –“

“Pogi ba ‘nak?” Her mom butted in.

“Nay!”

“Eto naman, nagtatanong lang kung pogi. Pogi ba?” Teresita continued.

Maya could only nod. She bowed down her head for them to not see her reddened cheeks.

“Uyy! Si bunsoooo! Crush mo no?” Cristina Rose teased.

“Kuteeee! Hindi kaya!” she said as she tries to hide her face using both of her hands.

“Eh bat ka nagtataklob ng mukha? Hahaha! Si bunso, dalaga naaaa.”

“Nay oh! Si Kute!”

Her mom just laughed. “Wala namang masama sa crush, Maya. Saka nasa tamang edad ka na rin.”
“Hindi ko nga crush Nay!” Ay nako. Ayokong umamin. Lalaki ang ego ng anghel na ‘yun! She turned to look at Richard and saw him looking away and is smiling goofily.  She can see the faint color red spreading on his cheeks.

Teka, ako lang ba o nagba-blush si Richard?

Kute followed Maya’s gaze. “Uyyyy! Si bunso, malayo ang tingiiiin! Iniisip mo no? Hahaha.”
“Kute! Tigilan mo na ko! Hindi naman kasi ehhh!”

“Mahal mo na no? Hahaha.”

Maya continued to cover her face, but she’s also stealing glances at Richard. She was not mistaken – Richard is indeed blushing. Does that mean na kinikilig sya?

 

“Nay oh, si Maya. Natutulala na lang basta.”

“Cristina Rose, tama na ‘yan. Pulang-pula na ang kapatid mo oh!”

“Hay nako, ang kulit talaga ng pamilya ko.” Arturo said. He did miss this ambiance. He missed this laughter. He missed her daughter. “Maya, saan mo ba nakilala yung Richard na ‘yun?”

“Ay ano, Tay uhm, ka .. katrabaho ko po sa Lim Aviation.” she lied.

“Hmm. Bakit ka niya naligtas? Magkasama ba kayo nung naaksidente ka?”

“Ay Tay hindi po. Napadaan lang po siya.”

“Sayang naman at hindi siya pwede ngayon. Gusto kong magpasalamat sa kanya eh.”

“Nandyan naman po siya Tay eh. Hindi niyo lang makita.” Maya muttered.

“Ha?”
“Ah, wala po Tay. Sabi ko po busy kasi siya.” Then she grabbed the glass to drink her juice.

“Sayang no Teresita? Kung nandito yun baka ipinagkasundo ko na kay Maya.”

Maya choked when she heard what her father said. Ipagpapakasundo ako?

“O, bakit Maya? Nagulat ka ba? Ehh pasensya na. Alam mo kasi, ang mga lalaking ganon, hindi pinapalagpas!”

“Tay naman oh! Masamang biro yan.”

His father laughed. “Pero umamin ka nga, Maya. May gusto ka ba kay Richard?”

Richard looked at her and waited for her answer. Maya could only stare at them as she decides whether to say yes or no.

She was almost going to say her answer when she saw their door and windows closed. She stiffened at the sight and fidgeted her hands.

“Nak, ayos ka lang ba?” Teresita asked her and Maya answered with nothing.

“Maya, breathe. C’mon. Inhale, exhale, inhale, exhale ..” Richard immediately went to her side and said those words.

“Anak?” Arturo stood and went to Maya’s side. “Anong nangyayari?”

“Damn. Open the window and the door! Hurry!!” Richard shouted in the direction of Kute who immediately stood up and opened all the windows and the door. Then she saw Maya’s breathing return to normal.

“Nak, ano bang nangyayari sa’yo?” Teresita asked.
“Wala po ‘to Nay. Pagod lang po siguro ako sa byahe.”

Richard stood in front of Arturo, then he closed his eyes.

Your daughter is not fine. Dalhin niyo na siya sa doktor. I think she developed claustrophobia from her accident. That’s why she doesn’t want to feel contained. Please bring her to a doctor. I beg you.

“Maya, halika, pupunta tayo sa doktor.” Arturo said.

“Ha? Ehh Tay –“
“Wag ka nang makulit. Teresita, tawagan mo si Doktor Reyes –“

“Ayos nga lang po ako.” Then she stood up. “Magpapahinga lang po ako.” Then she went outside.

“Maya!” Arturo called her but Maya didn’t listen. She continued to head for the doors.

“Arturo, hayaan mo na muna ang anak mo.” Teresita said.

Richard immediately followed Maya. He finally saw her sitting outside at the garden.

“Sabi na at dito ka pupunta.” He said as he sat beside her.

Maya glared at him. “Bakit ka ba nangingialam, Richard?”
“What? I’m just concerned –“

“Okay nga lang ako. Wala ‘to! Pagod lang!”

“Maya –“
“Pati pamilya ko, kinokontrol mo. Anong gusto mong iparating? Na por que dumating ka sa buhay ko, ikaw na yung kokontrol sa’kin?”

“Maya –“

“Wag mong sabihin sa’kin na –“

“Just stop, okay?” Richard said, his tone rose up and much louder than he intended to. Maya was astonished to hear Richard speak like that. “I’m not controlling you, I’m not controlling anyone! Ang gusto ko lang bumuti ka. Because even if you say that you’re alright, I could see and I could feel that you’re not. Kung gusto mong hindi ka gumaling, fine! Tutal katawan mo naman yan eh!” Then he looked away. “Pero wag mong kakalimutan na maraming tao ang mag-aalala sa’yo.” He looked straight into her eyes. “At isa na ako don.” He stood up and walked away.

“Maya, ang gamot ha? Laging iinumin.” Teresita told her. After Richard and Maya’s fight, she spent a few more minutes absorbing what just happened. She finally realized that Richard is right, that she needs to feel better. So she went inside and told her parents about what she is experiencing. Her parents brought her to a Psychologist and the doctor confirmed that she developed claustrophobia. She said that it’s still mild and can be treated easily. What was peculiar is that Richard is nowhere to be seen. He’s been missing after their argument. Umalis na pala siya. Hindi man lang nagpaalam.

 

“Dito ka muna matulog at bukas ka na lumuwas ng Maynila.” His father said as they reached Maya’s old room. “Dala mo ba yung mga gamit mo?”
“Opo Tay. May aayusin pa po kasi akong report. Gigising na lang po ako ng maaga bukas para hindi ako ma-late.”

“Sige anak. Bababa na muna ako. Tawagin mo na lang kami kapag may kailangan ka. Bukas naman yung mga bintana sa kwarto mo saka hindi ko na isasara yung pinto.”

“Sige po.”

Arturo left his daughter. Maya went to her bed to open her bag and to get her report.

“Bunso? Nakakaistorbo ba ko?” Kute knocked on her door.

“Ah, hindi naman Kute. May kailangan ka ba?”

“Wala naman. Kamusta pakiramdam mo?” she said as she sat down on her bed.

“Ayos naman. Nakakahinga na ng maluwag.”
“Buti naman. Uhm, Maya .. naka .. nakaranas ka ba nung .. wag na nga.”

“Ha? Ano ba yun Kute?”
“Ehh wag na, malalabuan ka lang sa’kin.”

“Ano nga yun?”
Kute sighed. “Kasi .. kasi kanina, nung inatake ka nung phobia mo, parang .. para bang may bumulong sa’kin. Actually hindi nga bulong eh, parang nasigawan ako. Ang sabi buksan ko daw yung mga bintana saka yung pinto. Kaya .. kaya yun yung nagawa ko kanina.”

Maya smirked. She knew all too well who’s responsible for that. “Wala yun Kute. Guniguni mo lang yun.”

“Hm, kung sabagay. O sya. Tutulog na ko. Maaga pa trabaho ko bukas. Good night.”

“Good night kute.”

Cristina Rose stood up and went to the door then she closed it.

Maya froze when she heard the door close. Her hands started to tremble. She wants to open it so badly but her knees are too weak for her to stand up.

Then the door opened, but no one entered.

When she can finally breathe normally, she looked straight. She doesn’t know why but when she was in that position she just said “Thank you, Richard.” Somehow, it felt right.

Maya settled in her bed, ready for sleep but whenever she closes her eyes; her mind is being transported inside that car. She wants to sleep so badly yet it’s difficult.

“Please stay with me, Richard. Stay with me until I fall asleep.” She said, and she drifted off to sleep.

A/N : I just noticed that this story is full of ups and downs, so sorry for that. The next chapters might be delayed. Baka sa friday na po ulit ako mag-load sa smartbro ko. :(( I’ll try this Wednesday but I can’t promise.

Next chapter will be Richard’s POV.

Oh, in response to what Richard said (Have we met before, Maya? -HF6IHA) you’ll find out soon. Hahaha.

Any thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Have Faith 7 – Another First

  1. love it! kakaiba sa lahat. Congrats sa very high score, keep up the good work, your parents must be very proud of you. im touhed sa mga batang kagaya mo. i can see my daughter in you she is doing bio medicine. good luck once again sa school.

  2. This is a nice read! Thanks for sharing your talent to us.

    Maya is the unfinished business of Richard, pero paano nangyari yon? Can’t wait for the next…

Your thoughts?

