Seize the Day 2

We’re dancing to the music given by the violin. I’m holding her close. My hands are on her waist and her hands are on my neck. Then she leaned on my chest. And suddenly, I’m in heaven. I’m madly in love with this woman.

 

It’s amazing how you could speak right to my heart

Without saying a word, you can light up the dark

Try as I may I could never explain

What I hear when you don’t say a thing

 

I sang the verse softly to her along with the violin. Hindi sa intensyon kong pakiligin siya, kundi dahil I meant those words.

“I love you, Maya.” I whispered to her.

“I love you too, Richard.” She whispered back.

My heart is screaming! She said she loves me back!

Seize the day, Richard. I told myself. Without waiting for another moment to pass by, I gathered up my courage. Inilapit ko ang mukha ko sa kanya. I looked at her eyes. Eyes that are telling me that she loves me so much just like my love for her. Then, I seized the day. I kissed her.

 

After the kiss, she leaned again on my chest. When the song finished, we decided to take a stroll through the garden. We’re holding hands while we’re walking.

“. . Richard, hindi naman magiging huling dinner ‘to eh.” Sabi ni Maya.

“How sure are you?”

“Sure na sure. Ikaw pa, mapilit ka kaya.”

I let go of her hand. “Wait lang.” Then I removed my coat. Pinatong ko sa likod niya. “Nilalamig ka ata eh.”

She smiled. “Salamat.” Then I held her hand again.

“Wag mo kong kakalimutan Maya.”

“Ikaw? Richard? Makakalimutan ko? Ang taong dinadala ako sa Principal’s office noon? Hindi no!”

I laughed. “Eh baka lang kasi eh.”

“Hindi no, Richard. Saka pano kita malilimutan, ehh . . . first kiss kita?”

I smiled. “Ako nga no?” I halted and I put my hands on either side of her face. “And I’ll be your second kiss” I kissed her again. “Your third kiss.” And again. “Your fourth kiss.” And again “And your fifth kiss.” And i kissed her again.

She blushed. Then she looked straight into my eyes. “Yes, Richard.”

“Anong yes?”

“Yes. Sinasagot na kita.”

“Sinasagot? Tayo na?”
Tumango siya. “Oo Richard. Girlfriend mo na ‘ko.”

I hugged her tight. Oh God. Is this all true? “Wait.” Sabi ko. “Are you sure? Are you ready? Alam mong mag-iintay ako diba? Sure ka na talaga?”

Pinisil niya yung pisngi ko. “Oo nga eh!” then she laughed.

I hugged her again. “I love you, Maya dela Rosa.”

“I love you too, Richard Lim.”

 

Before we leave, I gave her sunflowers. Why sunflowers? It’s because it’s uncommon. And it suits her. She’s not common; she’s one in a million. Sunflowers are often said to give radiance, and Maya does that. She gave me hope when things are not going in my way. She’s always there for me. And now, I want to be always there for her.

 

Hinatid ko na siya pauwi. We’re wearing these stupid smiles on our faces. Alam kong magiging mahirap para sa’min ‘to pero wala namang mahirap sa dalawang taong nagmamahalan diba? Kasi gagawa at gagawa kayo ng paraan, makita niyo lang ang isa’t-isa.

 

We finally arrived. I don’t want this day to end. I went outside of my car and opened her door. Then I helped her to leave my car.

“Richard, maraming salamat talaga.”

“It’s my pleasure, Maya. Maraming salamat din kasi pinasaya mo ‘ko.”

She smiled. “Pati naman ako, masaya eh.”

“I’ll do anything to make you happy. Goodnight, Maya.”
“Goodnight, Richard.”

I kissed her again. “You’re mine. Always remember that.”

She nodded. “I love you.” Sabi nya.

I smiled. “I love you, too.”

“Itext mo ako pag nakauwi ka na, ha!” sabi niya.

“Yes my dear.” She laughed.

 

Then I went home not as the same old Richard Lim. I have Maya now.

Your thoughts?

